Mexican Turkey Burgers

mtbI posted this on my old weight loss blog, “I Want to Be the Biggest Loser,” in August of 2011. I was on a roll…I had lost a lot of weight and I was eating healthy. Sadly, I didn’t stick to it. One night, I was at a loss on what to make for supper. I had recently bought Prevention Magazine’s “Biggest Loser Weight Loss Planner” magazine, and there were some recipes in there. One sparked my interest was “Mexican Turkey Burgers.” I just put my own spin on it. 😉

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg (20 oz) extra-lean ground turkey breast
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped red onion
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped green bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped fresh mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp fajita seasoning
  • 1/4 cup low-fat Mexican-blend cheese
  • Whole Grain Buns
  • Guacamole
  • Fat-Free Greek Yogurt

Directions:

  1. Preheat skillet, grill, or broiler.
  2. Combine turkey, cilantro, onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, seasoning, cheese in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Divide mixture and form into 6 patties.
  4. Grill or broil burgers 3 minutes per side, or until no longer pink inside.
  5. Spread some greek yogurt on the bottom bun, and some guacamole on the top bun.

If you try this recipe, let me know how it goes!

This entry was posted in Burgers, Healthy, Mexican and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

